Tupac Shakur


*Tupac Shakur’s song “Dear Mama,” Bill Cosby’s second comedy album and a classic from Little Richard are among 25 recordings the Library of Congress is preserving for their cultural significance.

Under the terms of 2000’s National Recording Preservation Act, the work must be “culturally, historically or aesthetically significant” and be at least 10 years old to be considered.

In its citation for “Dear Mama,” the National Recording Preservation Board called the song a “moving and eloquent homage to both the murdered rapper’s own mother and all mothers struggling to maintain a family in the face of addiction, poverty and societal indifference.”

Tupac is the third rapper inducted, following Grandmaster Flash and Public Enemy.

Organizers chose Cosby’s second album, “I Started Out as a Child,” over his first simply because they thought it was better overall, program coordinator Steve Leggett told the AP.

The Library of Congress also added Little Richard’s 1955 single “Tutti Frutti,” the 1968 album “Soul Folk in Action” by the Staple Singers and the 1923 recording “Canal Street Blues” by King Oliver’s Creole Jazz Band for epitomizing the sound of New Orleans.

Nominations were gathered from online submissions from the public and from members of the National Recording Preservation Board.

See the entire list below:

• “Fon der Choope” (From the Wedding), Abe Elenkrig’s Yidishe Orchestra (1913)
• “Canal Street Blues,”King Oliver’s Creole Jazz Band (1923)
• “Tristan und Isolde,” Metropolitan Opera, featuring Kirsten Flagstad and Lauritz Melchior, NBC Broadcast of March 9, 1935
• “When You Wish Upon a Star,” Cliff Edwards (recorded, 1938; released, 1940)
• “America’s Town Meeting of the Air: Should Our Ships Convoy Materials to England?”(May 8, 1941)
• The Library of Congress Marine Corps Combat Field Recording Collection, Second Battle of Guam (July 20 – August 11, 1944)
• “Evangeline Special” and “Love Bridge Waltz,” Iry LeJeune (1948)
• “The Little Engine That Could,” narrated by Paul Wing (1949)
• Leon Metcalf Collection of recordings of the First People of Western Washington State (1950-1954)
• “Tutti Frutti,” Little Richard (1955)
• “Smokestack Lightning,” Howlin’ Wolf (1956)
• “Gypsy,” original cast recording (1959)
• The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, Bill Evans Trio (June 25, 1961)
• “Daisy Bell (Bicycle Built for Two),” Max Mathews (1961)
• “I Started Out As a Child,” Bill Cosby (1964)
• “Azucar Pa Ti,” Eddie Palmieri (1965)
• “Today!,” Mississippi John Hurt (1966))
• “Silver Apples of the Moon,” Morton Subotnick (1967)
• “Soul Folk in Action,” The Staple Singers (1968)
• “The Band,” The Band (1969)
• “Coal Miner’s Daughter,” Loretta Lynn (1970)
• “Red Headed Stranger,” Willie Nelson (1975)
• “Horses,” Patti Smith (1975)
• “Radio Free Europe” R.E.M. (1981)
• “Dear Mama,” Tupac Shakur (1995)