*Following web series Diary of a Single Mom’s Best Soap win at the Indy Soap Awards, Executive Producer, Robert Townsend and the cast will host an hour long livestream event for viewers from tonight at 5 p.m. PDT/8 p.m. EDT until 6 p.m. PDT/9 p.m. EDT.

In addition to taking the top honor at the second annual Indy Soap Awards held on February 21, 2011, Monica Calhoun also received the Best Actress Award. To log into the chat go to:

“We greatly appreciate this recognition, but the greatest honor is hearing from fans about how they relate to these characters and how Diary of a Single Mom is helping them take action to improve their lives,” said Robert Townsend, Executive Producer of Diary of a Single Mom. “By producing a web based series we are able to reach so many people who are hungry for programming that deals with issues that are real and relevant to their lives.”

Diary of a Single Mom is a production of One Economy Corporation, a global nonprofit that works to make sure all people, regardless of income and location, can maximize the power of technology and information to enter the economic mainstream.  Diary of a Single Mom is available on One Economy’s Public Internet Channel (PIC.TV), a public-purpose network of writers, bloggers, producers and directors that provides free videos and tools to help viewers live a better life. The network has a history of tackling tough social issues, including childhood obesity, diabetes, gang violence and teenage pregnancy. The goal of all PIC.tv programming is to get viewers engaged and inspired, then connect them to the resources and tools to help them take action.

According to the recent Horowitz Associates, Inc.’s State of Cable and Digital Media study, almost a third of urban consumers (31%) watch TV content via alternative platforms. Thirty-six percent of Black consumers watch TV content on alternative platforms at least weekly versus 25% of whites.

“A growing number of people are relying on computers, laptops and mobile devices to watch television content,” said Kelley Dunne, President and CEO, One Economy Corporation.  “We must constantly challenge ourselves to seek creative ways to meet people where they are in delivering life enhancing online programs and resources to underserved residents.”

ABOUT ONE ECONOMY

One Economy is a global non-profit that uses innovative approaches to deliver the power of technology and information to low-income people.  More than 19 million people have used One Economy’s online tools and resources on its Public Internet Channel www.pic.tv to build better lives. To date, One Economy has launched on the ground programs in 42 U. S. states, Africa, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East.

Robert Townsend

 

 

source:
Carol Gregory
One Economy
[email protected]