(Dallas's Shawn Marion dunks in game 6 of 2011 NBA finals)

*Dirk Nowitzki and the Dallas Mavericks are NBA champions. They beat the Miami Heat’s heralded Big 3 LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, Chris Bosh in the process. The championship is the first in the franchise’s history.

Jason Terry scored 27 points, Nowitzki added 21 and the Mavericks topped the Miami Heat 105-95 in Game 6 of the NBA finals on Sunday night. The Mavericks won four of the series’ last five games, a turnabout that could not have been sweeter after seeing the Heat celebrate their first title in Dallas after Game 6 of the 2006 finals.

James scored 21 for Miami, though was largely quiet after the opening minutes. Chris Bosh had 19, Mario Chalmers 18 and Dwyane Wade 17 for the Heat.

Dirk Nowitzki was named the finals MVP.