President Barack Obama makes a toast at the United Nations luncheon in New York. (Sept. 22, 2011)

*In his first television interview on the economic crisis with BET Networks, President Obama will address a variety of topics that are of specific concern to the African-American community including The American Jobs Act, the network announced Thursday.

BET News sits down with President Obama at the White House in an exclusive one-on-one interview; the first in a series of BET News specials the network will produce bringing an African-American perspective to the 2012 Presidential Election cycle.

Premiering Monday (Sept. 26) at 7:30 p.m., “A BET News Exclusive: The President Answers Black America” will feature the president addressing the current unemployment crisis and economy specifically to an African-American audience with Emmy-Award winning journalist and former KTLA anchor Emmett Miller.

Topics will include the increase of unemployment among African-Americans since taking office, the current economic crisis, the political landscape around the 2012 Presidential Election and a personal account of his biggest challenges and achievements as the leader of the free world.

“We are thrilled to be the platform where the president will exclusively address our community,” said Loretha Jones, President of Original Programming at BET Networks.  “This conversation is particularly important given the impact the economic environment is having on African-Americans.”

BET will solicit questions from viewers prior to the interview and select one question to ask the president on-air. Viewers can submit on Twitter by using #AskObama, on Facebook, or at www.BET.com/AskObama.

“A BET News Exclusive: The President Answers Black America” premieres Monday, September 26 at 7:30 p.m. (ET/PT)/4:30 p.m. (PT) and CENTRIC at 8:00 p.m. (ET)/5:00 p.m. (PT).