*The nominees for the 27th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards have been announced. This year in 29 categories, Gospel artists will be awarded for the their transformational music at the only nationally televised awards show honoring Gospel artists.

Nominations were announced earlier on Friday, including emerging gospel star Vashawn Mitchell, who earned an impressive ten nods for his work on his 2011 release “Triumphant.”

Also veteran superstars Mary Mary and Kirk Franklin tied with six nods for their respective projects “Something Big” and “Hello Fear.” Groundbreaking artist Deitrick Haddon’s latest CD, Church on the Moon, earned five nominations.

In addition to the individual nominations of the top artists, their team members also scored nominations for the projects: Director Christian Heuer received a nomination for Mary Mary’s music video, Walking, and Warryn Campbell received a nomination for Producer of the Year for Mary Mary’s album Something Big; Songwriter Darius Paulk received a nomination forNobody Greater, sung by Vashawn Mitchell; and Denise Trotman and Greg Gilligan received a nomination for the recorded music packaging on Kirk Franklin’s Hello Fear.

The show’s producers, Central City Productions Founder/Chairman Don Jackson stated, “Last year marked our first live nominee announcement on the GMC television network and today’s show was another huge success! It is very appropriate and fitting to celebrate the nominees of Gospel’s biggest night through praise and worship because everyone is a winner here today.”

The 27th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards Show will be hosted this year by gospel legends Dorinda Clark Cole and Marvin Sapp and taped before a live audience on Saturday, Jan. 14, 2012.  The telecast is scheduled to air in national syndication from Jan. 21, 2012 to Feb. 26, 2012 on the GMC and local markets around the country.

The show will feature star-studded performances by James Fortune, Kirk Franklin, Jessica Reedy, Earnest Pugh, Richard Smallwood and Vision, Martha Munizzi, LeAndria Johnson, Lecrae, Canton Jones, Kim Burrell, Da’ T.R.U.T.H., Fred Hammond and Ricky Dillard among others.