Robin Roberts

*Before taking time off from “Good Morning America,” co-anchor Robin Roberts filmed a two-hour prime time special counting down TV’s greatest twosomes, known for their chemistry, hilarity, friendship and, in many cases, sexual tension.


“TV’s Most Dynamic Duos: Presented by The Paley Center for Media,” airing Sunday, Sept. 2 (9-11 p.m., ET) on the ABC Television Network, includes such iconic couples as Cliff and Clair Huxtable  of “The Cosby Show,” Bert and Ernie of “Sesame Street“ and George and Weezy Jefferson of “The Jeffersons.”

The 30 duos were selected by a poll conducted by Nielsen Media Research. They are (in alphabetical order):

Archie Bunker and Michael “Meathead” Stivic (“All in the Family“)

Beavis and Butthead (“Beavis and Butthead”)

Bert and Ernie (“Sesame Street“)

Cameron Tucker and Mitchell Pritchett (“Modern Family“)

James T. Kirk “Captain Kirk” and Mr. Spock (“Star Trek“)

Chandler Bing and Joey Tribbiani (“Friends“)

Cliff and Clair Huxtable (“The Cosby Show”)

Cliff Clavin and Norm Peterson (“Cheers”)

Dan and Roseanne Conner (“Roseanne”)

Dana Scully and Fox Mulder (“X-Files”)

David Addison and Maddie Hayes (“Moonlighting”)

Dwight Schrute and Michael Scott (“The Office”)

George and Weezy Jefferson (“The Jeffersons”)

George Costanza and Jerry Seinfeld (“Seinfeld”)

Homer and Bart Simpson (“The Simpsons”)

Jack Donaghy and Liz Lemon (“30 Rock”)

Jack McFarland and Karen Walker (“Will & Grace”)

John Locke and Jack Shephard (“Lost”)

Johnny Carson and Ed McMahon (“The Tonight Show”)

Kermit The Frog and Miss Piggy (“The Muppet Show”)

Kevin Arnold and Winnie Cooper (“Wonder Years”)

Laverne De Fazio and Shirley Feeney (“Laverne & Shirley”)

Lucy Ricardo and Ethel Mertz (“I Love Lucy”)

Meredith Grey and Derek “McDreamy” Shepherd (“Grey’s Anatomy”)

Pat Sajak and Vanna White (“Wheel of Fortune”)

Ralph and Alice Kramden (“The Honeymooners”)

Richie Cunningham and Arthur Fonzarelli (“Happy Days”)

Sam Malone and Diane Chambers (“Cheers”)

Tony and Carmela Soprano (“The Sopranos”)

Wayne Campbell and Garth Algar (“Saturday Night Live”)