jay nixon (screenshot)

Missouri Governor Jay Nixon

*This Ferguson, MO/Mike Brown murder story is getting more interesting by the moment.

If you haven’t heard, Missouri’s Governor, Jay Nixon, has issued a local state of emergency and imposed curfew after looters attacked local businesses earlier in the day.

Gov. Nixon said the overwhelming number of protesters have been peaceful. But he said he would not allow a small number of violent rioters to emerge again in the wake of a police-involved fatal shooting of 18-year-old Michael Brown one week ago.

Read/learn more at the Wall Street Journal.

In the meantime, because of the curfew, Jacky Johnson, the spokesperson for Rev. Al Sharpton and the National Action Network is announcing that Sharpton will NOT visit command post and QuickTrip tonight. However, he will address the curfew and state of emergency at the planned rally with the Michael Brown family Sunday afternoon.

REV. SHARPTON’S PUBLIC SCHEDULE
FOR SUNDAY AUGUST 17, 2014 IN ST. LOUIS, MO:

8a.m CT / 9a.m. ET Rev. Sharpton will broadcast his nationally syndicated radio show “Hour of Power” live from St. Louis, MO. The local St. Louis station is WFUN 95.5FM.

10a.m. CT / 11a.m. ET Rev. Sharpton will preach at a religious service.

WHERE:
Greater St. Marks Family Church
9950 Glen Owen Dr.
St. Louis, MO 63136

3p.m. CT / 4p.m. ET Rev. Sharpton will keynote at a unity rally with the family of Michael Brown in support of justice for Michael Brown.

Also Joined by:
Lesley McSpadden, Michael Brown’s mother
Michael Brown Sr., Michael Brown’s father
Attorney Benjamin Crump, Michael Brown’s family attorney
Martin Luther King III

WHERE:
Greater Grace Church
3690 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135