*(Los Angeles) – The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) is proud to announce the honorees for its annual Special Achievement Awards, which will be handed out on Saturday, January 7, 2017, at the California Yacht Club in Marina del Rey, California.

aafca award


anthony hemingway

AAFCA Horizon Award: Anthony Hemingway – Visionary Director/Producer, UNDERGROUND

floyd norman

AAFCA Legacy: Floyd Norman – Legendary Animator, Disney/Hanna-Barbera

lee daniels

AAFCA Cinema Vanguard: Lee Daniels – Oscar-Nominated Producer/Director, Record-Breaking TV Show Creator, PRECIOUS, EMPIRE

michael 'mike' phillips

AAFCA Roger Ebert: Mike Philips – Film Critic, Chicago Tribune

vanessa morrison

AAFCA Ashley Boone: Vanessa Morrison – President, Fox Animation

“All of our honorees are serious players who are helping to move the industry forward in terms of creating images that are diverse and inclusive,” says Gil Robertson, AAFCA president/co-founder. “They are all cultural visionaries who deserve to be recognized for their roles in advancing projects that have paid off critically and financially and we look forward to celebrating their careers.”

The following  month, the AAFCA will host its signature event, The 8th AAFCA Awards on Wednesday, Feburary 8, 2017 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood. Winners will be announced on Monday, December 12, 2016.

Established in 2003, the African American Film Critics Association is the largest black film critics’ organization in the world, representing television, radio, print and online critics.