*Tuesday night (01-10-17) President Barack Obama called on Americans to come together in the face of what he characterized as “challenges to our democracy” in a sweeping farewell speech. It was seen as more of a call to action for the nation’s future than a recollection of past successes.

In Chicago, the out going president spoke to a hometown audience estimated at nearly 20,000 people. Mr. Obama struggled to quiet a roaring crowd as he opened the speech by recounting how his political path began in the former “Second City.”

“This is where I learned that change only happens when ordinary people get involved, get engaged, and come together to demand it,” Obama said.

“After eight years as your President, I still believe that,” he went on. “And it’s not just my belief. It’s the beating heart of our American idea — our bold experiment in self-government.”

For more, WATCH the president’s FULL address via the YouTube player above.

Earlier we reported …

*Tonight, President Barack Obama is returning home to Chicago to give what is expected to be a landmark farewell address as his presidency ends.

Obviously it’s too late to score at ticket, but the White House will be streaming the occasion online, on the White House website as will YouTube as you can see above.

The speech is slated to start at 8 p.m. Central Time (9 p.m. Eastern, 6 p.m. Pacific) from McCormick Place, the Near South Side convention center where Obama held his second term election-night victory rally.

Advisors have said the president’s speech will be forward-looking—so don’t expect a big re-hashing of his legacy or a a victorious reliving of Grant Park 2008. But the speech will also draw from Obama’s personal history as a Chicago community organizer and state senator, with a message urging perseverance in the face of setbacks, according to his speechwriter.